Day #70, Bank Account And Birthday Dinner

September 23+1, 2016

The weekend started.

I found a letter from an electricity company in my mailbox when I got home in the morning, and went to Barclay’s to open an account.

They said the letter is not a bill, even if my name is written on it, so they couldn’t help me. They need an actuall bill. Shit. Bloody hard to get a fxxxing bank account!

I called the elec. company and they say they issue bills every 3 months. What??? I have to wait for another 3 months to be able to open a bank account? I could use water bill, council tax bill or NI number, and I have no idea when they are going to be in my mailbox except NI number which will be there in late November.

I asked the elec company to issue a bill straightaway, and they wanted my metre reading of today to do so, and I asked my concierge and provided the info, and I was told they issued and sent it righaway. It will arrive in 4-5 working days. Bloody hell. I was on the phone for about an hour for this business. God, this banking business really wears me out. Well at least I have a roof!

Back in my flat, I prepared dinner a bit. I invited Claire for her birthday dinner.

I have been so tired from all this business of NI number interview and banking since yesterday, I fell asleep straightaway when I put my head on the pillow. 

I woke up when Claire called me as arranged, and got up to cook. I grilled marinated beef sirloin and prawns, made a Korean seaweed soup that Koreans eat on their birthdays, cooked rice and took Kimchi out. And poured NZ Malborough Sauvignon Blanc. 

A nice dinner, it was. The very first shared meal in my new home in Manchester. I wouldn’t put so much effort for a meal myself, so I need someone to share a meal with love, joy and appreciation to cook. I’d like to have someone special in my life for that matter. For now, I will have to organise dinner parties or just invite friends.

Will do it when my home is ready.

Leave a Reply

